Events /

Series of Events

Friday, 09 September 2022

European Group of Public Law 2022

The 2022 Annual Reunion of the European Group of Public Law (EGPL), themed "CLIMATE CHANGE AND PUBLIC LAW: CHALLENGES, POLICIES, FUTURE PERSPECTIVES " took place at the EPLO premises at Legrena, Sounion, on 9 and 10 September. 

For the 33rd consecutive year, public law academics, High Court judges and public law practitioners from all over the world, gathered for the Reunion of the European Group of Public Law, that serves as the European Scientific Council of the EPLO.

The conference theme was examined during three sessions. The first session involved an exploration to the challenges the climate change imposes to European and Global Public Law, the second session covered the aspects of Climate Change Governance and Decision-making , and the third session touched upon the Effective Judicial Review of Public Action or Inaction related to Climate Change Law. Workshops comprised the fourth session.

During the conference, the Group members granted the Thesis Prize, an award offered by the EGPL to the best doctoral or postdoctoral thesis characterized by its European dimension. The 2022 Thesis Prize was awarded jointly to two candidates: Leticia Diez Sanchez for her thesis entitled “Integration through Law and its Discontents: Unveiling the distributive impact of judge-made law in the EU” and Marie Padilla for her thesis entitled “Droit public et doctrine publiciste au RU, Regard critique sur un objet à (re)construire” (“Public Law and Publicist Doctrine in the UK, Critical Look at an Object to be (Re)Constructed”). .

With the presence of representatives of States, Universities, Public Authorities and International Organizations – Members of the European Public Law Organization (EPLO) – the annual meeting of the EPLO Board of Directors took place a day before the EGPL Annual Reunion, on Thursday, 8 September 2022 at the EPLO premises in Sounion, Greece.

Supporters: The EPLO would like to warmly thank the following companies Αθηναϊκή Ζυθοποιία , Κοτόπουλα Αγγελάκης and Souroti for their support and kind contribution to the Annual Conference/Reunion of 2022 of the European Group of Public Law.