About / Entities /

Institute for Justice and Growth

The Institute for Justice and Growth (IJG) has been established by the European Public Law Organization aiming to provide consulting and educational and training services of expert and innovative character as well as technical assistance and support to countries and Organizations for:

  1. reforming and improving the national judicial systems and contributing to the enhancement of citizens’ trust in justice and the rule of law, including the introduction and development of alternative dispute resolution methods (such as mediation) as well as institution building services and organization of scientific events of all kinds for the promotion of the above reforms,
  2. improving the business and investment environment in order to boost competitiveness and openness of the economy,
  3. exploiting IT technologies in the field of public governance (e-government) as well as in the field of justice (e-justice) aiming at a transparent, accountable and good governance.

The IJG constitutes an academically independent unit of the European Public Law Organization with operational autonomy and is under the responsibility of its President with the assistance of its Scientific Council.

Mr. Nicolas Kanellopoulos, Attorney-at-Law, former Secretary General of the Hellenic Ministry of Justice, Transparency and Human Rights (2011-2015) is the President for the Institute for Justice and Growth.

The Scientific Council acts as a permanent advisory committee on scientific issues for which consultation is necessary. The members of the IJG Scientific Council are personalities of high academic and professional qualifications and international recognition.

The IJG is constituted by two Directorates, (i) the Justice Reform and Growth Directorate and (ii) the e-Government Solutions Directorate. Ms Eleni Kefali is the Director of the Justice Reform and Growth Directorate. Mr George Karvelis is the Director of the e-Government Solutions Directorate. They are both ex officio members of the Scientific Council according to the IJG Regulations.

Our goal is to unify the forces of the judiciary with those of the academia and the legal professionals with a view of adopting an extrovert modus operandi for the Institute, fostering synergies and creating partnerships based on the European and international best practices.

The members of the IJG Scientific Council are the following:

President: Nicolas Kanellopoulos, Attorney-at-Law, Accredited Mediator.


  1. Androulakis Vassilios, Associate Councilor at the Council of State
  2. Apalagaki Charikleia,  Secretary General of the Hellenic Bank Association, Professor at the Department of Civil Law, Civil Procedural Law and Labour Law of the Law Faculty of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  3. Askounis Dimitrios, Professor at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the National Technical University of Athens, Division of Industrial Electric Devices and Decision Systems
  4. Botopoulos Konstantinos, Attorney at Law, PhD in Constitutional Law
  5. Brakoumatsos Panagiotis, Public Prosecutor at the Athens Court of Appeal
  6. Economou Kyriakos, Supreme Court Justice
  7. Gerapetritis Georgios, Professor of Constitutional Law at the Law School of the University of Athens
  8. Hatzis Aristides, Associate Professor of Law & Economics and Legal Theory, Department of Philosophy & History of Science (MITHE) at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
  9. Karvelis George, e-Government Solutions Director of the Institute
  10. Kefali Eleni, Justice Reform and Growth Director of the Institute
  11. Kotsiris Lambros, Emeritus Professor at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, President of the Mediators’ Accreditation  Committee of the Ministry of Justice, Transparency and Human Rights, Member of the Academy of Athens
  12. Kousoulis Konstantinos, Councilor of State
  13. LoukasDimitrios, Attorney-at-Law, Vice Chairman of the Hellenic Competition Commission
  14. MarkisVassilios, Honorary Deputy Public Prosecutor of the Supreme Court, Honorary President of the Association of Prosecutors of Greece
  15. Mitrou Lilian, Professor at the University of the Aegean, Department of Information and Communication Systems Engineering
  16. Panagiotopoulos Panagiotis, Public Prosecutor at the Athens Court of Appeal
  17. Papaioannou Elias, Professor of Economics, London Business School
  18. Pikramenos Michael, Councilor of State, Assistant Professor of Public Law and Political Science at the Law School of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki,National Representative of Greece to CEPEJ
  19. RaikosDimitrios, Judge at the United Nations Appeals Tribunal, Presiding Judge at the Administrative Court of Appeal, Associate Professor of Public Law and Political Science at the Law School of the Democritus University of Thrace
  20. Sakellaropoulou Aikaterini, Vice President of the Council of State
  21. Triantaffilakis Georgios, Professor of Commercial Law at the Democritus University of Thrace

Secretary of the Scientific Council: Mantzos Dimitrios, Attorney-at-Law, Accredited Mediator

The Institute has experience in both strategic planning and legislative initiatives and implementation in the areas of judicial reform through the long experience of the President of the Institute under his previous capacity as the Secretary General of the Greek Ministry of Justice Transparency and Human Rights (2011- 2015) as well as of the members of its Scientific Council and the rest of the Institute’s associates being Supreme Court Judges, members of the Academia, attorneys-at-law of high professional esteem and senior executives with extensive experience in both the private and public sector.

These areas are:

1. Justice reform, including but not limited to the reform of the main codes of legislation (Code of civil procedure, Penal Code etc) and the organization of Courts,

2. Alternative dispute resolution,

3. e- justice,

4. Public Private Projects (PPP), structural funds and European grants of all kinds,

5. Action plans for the decongestion of prisons,

6. Electronic surveillance systems and e-tagging,

7. Organization and operation of prisons,

8. Construction of court buildings and prisons.