Newsroom /

Our News

Wednesday, 20 November 2019

EPLO launched its New Global Rule-of-Law Initiative in UN New York

EPLO's new “GLOBAL RULE-OF-LAW INITIATIVE” was launched at the UN Headquarters in New York on November 20, 2019, with the active substantial and organizational assistance, in cooperation with the co-sponsoring states of Armenia, Georgia, India, Angola, Argentina and the support of the Member States of EPLO.

Prof. Giuliano Amato, constitutional judge and former Prime Minister of the Italian Republic was the keynote speaker. Ambassador Maria Theofili, Permanent Representative of Greece to the United Nations delivered welcoming remarks and spoke about the fruitful cooperation between Greece and the EPLO. João Miguel de SerpaSoares, Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs also intervened at length at the meeting, whereas H.E. Dr. Barbara Faedda, EPLO Permanent Observer to the United Nations and Executive Director of the Italian Academy for Advanced Studies in America at Columbia University moderated the panel discussion. In a full room, many state representatives attended, took the floor and praised the organization for this initiative.

The EPLO Global Rule of Law Initiative shall work in developing the concept of the Rule of Law in a perspective of a dialogue of civilizations in equality and respect of all. The Global Rule of Law Initiative is a project designed to provide, through eminent personalities from all geographical regions, technical assistance and expertise on issues pertaining to the rule of law to all states on a voluntary basis, irrespective of whether they are members of the EPLO.

tags: EPLO, UN, Rule of Law

Amb. A.Papakostas, Representatives of Armenia, India, Portugal, Cyprus, Mr. Serpa Soares, Mr. G.Amato, Amb. M.Teofylli, Amb. B.Faedda, Representative of Italy, Prof. Sp. Flogaitis, Ms. T. Violante representing Cascais at the EPLO BoD, Representatitves. of Georgia and Argentina.
The panel: Mr. G. Amato, Mr. Joao Miguel de Serpa Soares, the Amb. M. Theofili, Dr. B. Faedda, Mr. Sp. Flogaitis
The panel: Mr. G. Amato, Mr. Joao Miguel de Serpa Soares, the Amb. M. Theofili, Dr. B. Faedda, Mr. Sp. Flogaitis

Join our mailing list
to receive our news!