

19/04/2023

European Institute for Criminal Law and Criminal Justice System

The European Institute for Criminal Law and the Criminal Justice System is a late addition to EPLO's broad range of Institutes. It brings together leading scholars to explore central issues in classical criminal law doctrine as well as the philosophical foundations of the criminal law. In particular, it is concerned with the doctrinal and philosophical analysis of contemporary problems in European criminal law and the law of individual European states (including the UK).

To this end, the Institute runs workshops and conferences. Furthermore, its statute foresees the possibility that the Institute will, in the near future, offer a taught postgraduate degree.

The Institute operates as an autonomous unit of EPLO under the responsibility of its Director and scientific council. The Scientific Council includes twenty-one scholars of international reputation, from many different European jurisdictions, specialising in criminal law, the philosophy of criminal law, or theoretical criminology.

Director

• Ioannis Giannidis, Professor Emeritus, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Scientific Council

- Hans-Jörg Albrecht, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult., Director emeritus at the Max Planck Institute, Germany
- Luis Alberto Arroyo Zapatero, Professor, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
- Antony Duff, Professor Emeritus, University of Stirling, UK
- Lindsay Farmer, Professor, University of Glasgow, UK
- Luís Greco, Prof. Dr., Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany
- Elisa Hoven, Prof. Dr., Leipzig University, Germany
- Gaetano Insolera, Professor, University of Bologna, Italy
- Dimitrios Kioupis, Associate Professor, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
- Nicola Lacey, Professor, LSE (London School of Economics and Political Science), UK
- Effi Lambropoulou, Professor, Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences, Greece
- José Lobo Moutinho, Professor, Catholic University of Portugal, Portugal
- Sandra Marshall, Professor Emeritus, University of Stirling, UK
- Lesley McAra, Professor, University of Edinburgh, UK
- **Manolis Melissaris**, Dr., formerly Associate Professor LSE (London School of Economics and Political Science), independent researcher, Cyprus
- Georgios Nikolopoulos, Professor, Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences, Greece
- Konstantinos Papageorgiou, Professor, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
- Theodoros Papakyriakou, Associate Professor, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
- Konstantina Papathanasiou, Prof. Dr., University of Liechtenstein
- Frank Saliger, Prof. Dr., LMU München, Germany
- Sonja Snacken, Prof. Dr., Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium



• P.H.P.H.M.C. van Kempen, Prof. Dr., Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

2/2